Ramblings of a Die-Hard Fan


Written By:  JS_in_LA  (Jeff S.)

Well folks, we all have our fantasies about the draft, our disappointments, and triumphs.  Inevitably we find names we’ve never heard of and are told these are hidden gems that will become stars someday.  Maybe next year.  Maybe in 5 years on someone else’s roster.  Maybe eventual shoe-salesmen with a great NFL stories.  Anyway, there’s a whole lot of dreaming that happens both before and after.   But the reality is also interesting.

Take a step back with me, away from our Dolphin adorned socks, and Fins #1 foam fingers.  Definitely put down that Cleo Lemon jersey.  Lets see what we’re facing in this next season.  See, improvements don’t happen in a void.  Everybody else improved too.  Obviously it’s advisable to improve more than the other guys.  And it’s always the tongue biting biotch when the guy you wish you could grab later goes to someone you have to play.  Miss drafting ’em?  Now ya gotta guard ’em.  So we’ll scan our schedule that we all had our opinions on BEFORE the draft.  See if you like our chances more or less after reading, and I’ll do my best to clear the mud for a fair glance at our new competition.

1 Sun, Sep 9 @Houston 1:00 PM
KEY DRAFT PICKS=  Mercilus (DE), D.Posey (WR), B.Brooks (OG), B.Jones (C), K. Martin(WR)
*Assuming Shaub is healthy, Posey and Martin are two dangerous weapons.  Jones is solid and Brooks is a freakish project.  Mercilus I wasn’t impressed with, but if he lives up to rating, he replaces M. Williams.

2 Sun, Sep 16 vsOakland 1:00 PM
KEY DRAFT PICKS= T.Bergstrom (OT), M. Burris (OLB), J.Crawford (DE), J. Criner (WR)
*Bergstrom is supposed to be nasty, Crawford and Burris sound like competition not stars, but I love Criner.  He’ll terrorize us underneath while the the fast guys (they have several) occupy the corners and safeties.  Criner is also a tough red zone threat.

3 Sun, Sep 23 vsNew York 1:00 PM
KEY DRAFT PICKS= Coples (DE), S. Hill (WR), D.Davis (OLB), J.Bush (S), R. Griffin (OG) *Coples and Hill alone have me in awe.  Bigtime upgrades.  Hill is potential superstar (or bust).  Davis sounds project-y, Bush is probably nickel/dime, Ganaway back-up, And Griffin is a monster in size.  If he has any skill, he’ll be solid.  If not, he’ll be back-up.
And, oh yeah… they have Tebow now.

4 Sun, Sep 30 @Arizona 4:05 PM
KEY DRAFT PICKS= M. Floyd (WR), J.Fleming (CB), B.Massie (OT), S.Kelemete (OT) *Yet another awesome receiver for Kolb to play with , and two solid tackles.  Massie was rated top-round, but picked round 4 (*tell me again why we HAD to draft our tackle round 2?).  Fleming sounds like a project that goes special teams unless he wins out in camp.  If Kolb can throw it far enough, he’ll have time and receivers open.

5 Sun, Oct 7 @Cincinnati 1:00 PM
KEY DRAFT PICKS= D.Kirkpatrick (CB), K.Zeitler (OG), D. Still (DT), M.Sanu (WR), B.Thompson (DT), O. Charles (TE), M.Jones (WR) *Except for Kirkpatrick and Sanu, they loaded up on beef.  Very good beef.  Three top playmakers and a lot of tonnage sounds like a decent draft for playoff caliber additions.  Kirkpatrick will be solid, if not scary.  Sanu is a home-run threat with the ball, but I wasn’t impressed with his hands or body positioning.  But them other fellas have him rated very high.  Charles was supposed to be solid, but I haven’t seen any film. M.Jones I like, and is a shifty, hard to tackle receiver.

6 Sun, Oct 14 vsSt. Louis 1:00 PM
KEY DRAFT PICKS= M.Brockers (DT), B.Quick (WR), J.Jenkins (CB), I.Pead (RB), T.Johnson (CB), C.Givens (WR), R.Watkins (OT) *Rams pretty much drafted an all-star roster, and whenever these guys peak… bad news for everyone else.  If Bradford lives up to billing, Rams have the makings for conference champion in a few years.  Scary good picks.  I love every one of these picks.  Quick and Givens are stars, Jenkins is a nightmare for QBs, Brockers is inside pressure, Pead is a threat from the flat, Johnson sounds solid, Watkins keeps Bradford standing.

7 BYE WEEK

8 Sun, Oct 28 @New York 1:00 PM
**see above**

9 Sun, Nov 4 @Indianapolis 1:00 PM
KEY DRAFT PICKS= Luck (QB), C.Fleener (TE), D.Allen (TE), TY Hilton (WR), J.Chapman (DT)
*Luck, plus two quality TEs, plus a nasty fast/shifty receiver in Hilton equals eventual success.  Add some defense with Chapman, and a solid beginning.
Not enough yet, but a very good start.  Hilton was a fave of mine.

10 Sun, Nov 11 vsTennessee 1:00 PM
KEY DRAFT PICKS= K.Wright (WR), Z.Brown (OLB),M.Martin (DT), C.Sensabaugh (CB), T.Thompson (TE), M.Martin (FS)*OK overall draft.  Wright may be a star or solid, Brown is boom or bust.  The others are starter competition.  D and running game was already good, so
Locker/Hasselbeck gets a couple of weapons upgrades.

11 Thu, Nov 15 @Buffalo 8:20 PM
KEY DRAFT PICKS= S.Gilmore (CB), C.Glenn (OT), TJ Graham(WR), N. Bradham (OLB), R. Brooks (CB), Z. Sanders (OT) *Solid corner, solid RT, project WR, project OT (Sanders plays both sides?) and starter competition the rest.  OK.  Definite upgrades, but nothing for
sportscenter.

12 Sun, Nov 25 vsSeattle 1:00 PM
KEY DRAFT PICKS= B.Irvin (DE), B.Wagner (ILB), R.Wilson (QB), R.Turbin (RB), J.Howard (DT), K.Toomer (ILB)  *Big and fast – all of them.  I sense a pattern. Except for Wilson.  That one is weird, but just in case Flynn is fool’s gold ..ok.  But I’d assume retread would’ve been more sensible than project rookie.  Good core draft, but nothing scary.  If Flynn works out, then they’ve improved well.  If Flynn sucks, they’ll be a top picker next year.

13 Sun, Dec 2 vsNew England 1:00 PM
KEY DRAFT PICKS= C.Jones (DE), D.Hightower (ILB), T. Wilson (FS), J. Bequette (DE), N.Ebner (DB), A, Dennard (CB) *Hmmm, wonder what area needed improvement?  D?  Well, it just got it.  Jones, and Hightower fit well, Wilson is a tweener but that fits, and a bunch of
possible “hidden gems”… we call them acorns.  I like Hightower.  D leader, winner, and solid all-around play.  So solid MLB and a pass rush to add to superbowl runner-up?  Yep.  Bad news.

14 Sun, Dec 9 @San Francisco 4:05 PM
KEY DRAFT PICKS= AJ Jenkins (WR), L.James (RB), J.Looney (OG), D.Fleming (OLB)
*Well, a little more O felt right to ask for, and Jenkins and James are fair bets.  I’m not a Jenkins fan, and I think James will be proven a more effective college runner, but others say different.  If I’m right, SF didn’t improve enough.  If I’m wrong, they did.  Alex Smith is still their barometer.  Their D is still great though.

15 Sun, Dec 16 vsJacksonville 1:00 PM
KEY DRAFT PICKS= J.Blackmon (WR), A. Branch (DE), B.Anger (P), B.Marshall (OLB)
*Blackmon and Branch were great starts,  both possible stars.  Then the punter.  Ah well, everyone needs what they need.  Considering Gabbert is still a puss, Anger management will be necessary… see where I went there? Marshall is competition.  Once they find their QB, they’ve got some definite talent.  Maybe Blackmon is enough to keep the diapers off Gabbert.  IMO, still a cellar team, but only because of leadership.

16 Sun, Dec 23 vsBuffalo 1:00 PM
**see above**

17 Sun, Dec 30 @New England 1:00 PM
**see above**

All information, only slightly skewed, and barely paraphrased.  Discuss as you like.  I’ll try to keep up.

Special Thanks to JS for being my first guest writer –    Jon  (Ohio)

Tags: ,

43 Responses to “Ramblings of a Die-Hard Fan”

  1. JS_in_LA Says:

    I did negelct to mention Mario Williams’ signing in Buffalo; not a draft pick, but a big deal anyway. The good news is we have Martin now to combat him. The bad news is Martin is a rookie.

  2. oscar canosa Says:

    Why you get so mad at me? I only said you were being added to the Crow Feeders list, but you are a young’un!

  3. JS_in_LA Says:

    funny. And I’m not mad at all.
    Like I said, I’d rather eat crow and have Dolphin’s kick butt.
    You’re still OK in my book Oscar.
    –young-un is a stretch though. Balding wih grey hairs hasn’t got me carded in many moons.

  4. odinseye Says:

    Nice analysis JS.

    Way to point out how our opponents imporoved(joking).

    Did you notice almost my entire mock ended up in the AFC East. Only 1 to Miami though ;(

    Coples and Hill to the Jets.

    Nigel Bradham and Zebrie Sanders to the Bills.

    Cunningham to Miami.

    I had Kelechi Osemele(2nd-Ravens) and Cousins (4th-Skins)as my 3rd rounders. All least I got the rounds right on the AFC East picks.

    I know, I know, I stunk it up. Nice blog though JS!

  5. JS_in_LA Says:

    sounds like we need to do an entire mock draft segment with ask Dr. Odin. My mock was 180 degrees opposite of what Miami did. My only accurate prediciton is that Miami would do opposite of what I said. Consolation in that I suppose.

  6. odinseye Says:

    Dr. Odin?

    I like the sound of that-lol.

    That’s not what they call me at Dolphins in Depth 😉

  7. ALOCO Says:

    VERY GOOD RAMBLING JS……….I HOPE PEOPLE WILL COME ALONG ……..

  8. oscar canosa Says:

    Not bad at all for a young’un. I kind of disagree on the Jets. That’s a Team in Turmoil.

  9. odinseye Says:

    Sorry for the off topic!

    Calling our coaches dumb for wanting Tannehill to start day 1 isn’t very fair.

    Tannehill was the 8th overall pick of the draft. That means that Ireland felt he was about the 8th best player out of the thousands of collegiate canidates.

    Why is it such a stretch to expect the 8th best player in college football to start?

    Don’t tell me it’s because of inexperience. This offense is completely new to incumbent Moore and backup Garrard. Tannehill on the other hands knows about at least 80 to 90 percent of the offense already. He’ll come into camp ahead of Moore and Garrard.

    Tannehill will be working with his same old coach and knows the offense already. Add in the fact that he was the 8th overall pick of the draft, I do not see any reason why he shouldn’t be the starter day 1.

    If I used my 8th overall pick under these exact same circumstances(same coach, very similar/same offense), I would expect to him to start day 1.

    Anything less = EXCUSES.
    ——————————————————-

    Disclaimer: Before you start all the name calling and accusations, please just let me remind you:

    Please don’t coveiniently “forget” to address the points and issues I’ve posted 😉

  10. JS_in_LA Says:

    oscar,
    turmoil perhaps. But talent they got. Sorta Raiders 2.0.

  11. Jon Says:

    Talent may not be enough for the Jets. My feelings are currently with Oscar on them.

    But I admit it is hard for my bias not to come through when speaking of the Jets

  12. JS_in_LA Says:

    Odin,
    Tannehill will be pulled over to exhibit plays and routes to both Qbs and receivers while the coach coaches. Not a stretch at all to think Sherman may have more confidence in Tanny than the other 3 to run his O. Not a stretch at all to say Tanny starts this season.

  13. odinseye Says:

    I don’t hate many things on this planet.

    The jets(and blog trolls)I hate with the deepest sincerity!

    It’s undeniable that they have talent on the Roster. A pretty good special teams coach to(a sleazeball, but good).

    I think they’ve just added a couple of key components in Coples and Hill as well.

    That’s OK though, it just means I hate them even more now.

  14. oscar canosa Says:

    The only question I have about Tannehill is if he has the killer instinct(he wants to be a Physician, you know). He’ll learn soon enough.

  15. odinseye Says:

    JS,

    It’s nice to know that somebody agrees with me.

    It’s been kind of wierd lately. I made it be known that I wasn’t a fan of the Tannehill PICK. That’s fine, it’s my opinion.

    Now that he’s a Dolphin, I can’t help rooting for him to be the next Super Bowl winning Hall Of Famer. That’s just the way it is me an my LOVE of any and all things Dolphins.

    Now though(and this is the wierd part)whenever I post that I think Tannehill should start day 1, people attack me like I just robbed their Mothers.

    They never accused me of anything when I was calling for Henne to start? I’m at a loss-LOL.

    Apparently Tannehill is a touchy taboo subject with alot of the bloggers!

  16. JS_in_LA Says:

    concerning the Jets turmoil, here’s another prediction:
    Tebow will replace Sanchez somewhere this season. Bet on it. And once he does, his glue will have a permeating effect throughout the lockerrom. No, they won’t beat the Pats. But us?
    Depends on how quickly Tannehill gets on the field. His ability to run, scramble, and keep the LBs honest is our best hope to getting below average receivers open. Tebow is proof positive of that idea.

  17. Jon Says:

    Odin,

    If the coaches feel they want Tanny to start Day 1, I’m fine with that.

    Lets get the party started

  18. Jon Says:

    Goodell will make sure the Jets beat us if Tebow is playing to make sure their networks get as many ratings as possible 🙂

    (I don’t really believe this, but was feeling like a conspiracy theorist for a second there!!!) 🙂 🙂

  19. BigPete Says:

    JS- great post!

    Jax took a punter with their third pick? We did a lot better than them!

  20. Jon Says:

    Punters are people too BigPete 🙂 🙂 aren’t they?

  21. ALOCO Says:

    I WANT TO EAT SEA BASS ,I AM GOING OUT TO BUY SOME …….

  22. JS_in_LA Says:

    Im sure Ireland had his sights set on the punter, so Jax stole him 😉 Yeah, they caught flak from their own players and fans for it. Still a better pick than Washington taking Cousins, though.

  23. JS_in_LA Says:

    My on-going lament:
    Why o why did we have to insist our RT comes from the top rounds when Massie was there for the taking at round 4.
    Rueben Randle and Steven Hill both available in the 2nd round for us. Maybe Vinny Curry.
    We coulda had it all!
    We coulda been a contenda’. We coulda been somebody. 😉

  24. Jon Says:

    We may not be somebody’s yet, but I refuse to call us nobody’s! 🙂

    Sept 9th will start to tell that story

  25. JS_in_LA Says:

    Just a joke.
    The sooner Tannehill gets experience, the sooner we shake that notion though.
    Really, his scrambling, running, and extending the play capability is the primary way to get below average receivers open. We will need that way sooner than later.

  26. Jon Says:

    It would also be a pleasant surprise if some of our receivers became average or above average at some point…….then they would demand some coverage and open up the below average receivers too

    Now I’m dreaming again

  27. Jon Says:

    I talked football to a troll so much today on the Herald that he went silent……..hahahaha it was fun and hilarious

    he didn’t know what to do….other than try to call me 3rd grade names…….it really wasn’t fair of me 🙂

  28. JS_in_LA Says:

    Last time I tried to answer Darryl’s post (twice) I ws dumped by Mando’s screener. No idea why. nothing ugly in what I said at all.

    Here’s a thought:
    Gafney was dumped today. Shall we rent him for a season or two until Ireland can scribble a few WR names on his 2013 draft board? He had a good season last year. Maybe a fair band-aid.

  29. oscar canosa Says:

    Peruvian Sea Bass has the reputation of being the best Bass in all Oceans. They make(or used to make a great one) In Casa Juancho here in Miami. However, ALoco, the price is exorbitant, even for you.

  30. JS_in_LA Says:

    anyone want to kick the tires on Gaffney or J.Jones? As mediocre as they are, they still are more qualified starters than most of ours.
    But If Ireland can manage to actually draft a few WRs next year, I’m OK with short contracts.
    thoughts?

  31. darryldunphy Says:

    JS..in _LA..Great job bro..You are a pro!!!

    Hell yes kick the tires on Jacoby Jones..Do more then kick the tires..Steal the rims..

  32. darryldunphy Says:

    ..OOPS..I was thinking Jacoby Ford. My bad. Jacoby Jones??? He could probably return kicks-punts(he did have the fumble v Baltimore that turned the game)..I apoligize.

    This said..I think Jacoby Jones would be a decent pickup..His best year was when Andre Johnson was hurt..I think he had close to 60 catches..If we could get 50 catches from him, even 40…That would be pretty good in a reciever by commitee sort of outfit.

  33. JS_in_LA Says:

    not too old, 27. depends on his price. waived, so pick up contract, but prob renegotiate. I think worth a look.

  34. ALOCO Says:

    I JUST BACK FROM WORK ,CAN SOME ONE TELLS ME WHAT HAPPENED IN ARAMNDO CRAPPY BLOG ?

    AND WHY MY NAME CAME UP SO MANY TIMES ?

  35. Jon Says:

    Aloco,

    I apologize. It was my fault. I was tired of the troll attacking me, so I attacked back. The only reason your name came up was because you come to my blog and you are now associated with me.

    I will try to keep quiet on the Herald’s blog from this point forward so they don’t talk bad about you guys.

  36. ALOCO Says:

    OHIO,

    FOR YOU TO BE UNDER ATTACK ,IT MEANS YOU R DOING SOME THING RIGHT ……KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK ……I HOPE THE NEXT GUEST WRITER IS KRIS……….OR GRAIG M …….THAT WILL BRING BACK YG FOR SURE …….

  37. Jon Says:

    I will reach out to fellow guest writers. I enjoyed this one very much.

  38. JS_in_LA Says:

    Glad, Jon. Too bad not more comments, but not too horrible for post-draft. Maybe a few more tomorrow morning will drift in.

    I find it less and less enjoyable to comment on Armando’s site, when all anyone wants to do is peacock and bluster. Like the difference between Jim Rome’s fans versus Mike and Mike. I’m not into smack-offs. To each their own, but I go to sports sites to talk sports. Seems like there should be smack-talk sites for the rest.

  39. oscar canosa Says:

    You can bet that, only in very selected situations, they will use Tannehill in some other capacity than QB. As well they should.

  40. professor lou Says:

    The Dolphins drafted Lamar Miller in the 4th round. He ran a 4.38 at the combine, rushed for 1,272 yds and 9 td’s and he’s tough to bring down. A threat to take it the distance every time he touches the ball, whether it be as a back or kick returner. He’s also young so he’s got plenty left.
    They drafted Michael Egnew in the 3rd. Egnew was a very productive tight end at Missouri and, in my opinion, more of a threat in the passing game than Celmson’s Dwayne Allen. When the Saints chose Jimmy Graham they were taking a chance on him without knowing for sure how he would turn out. Graham only had a little over 200 yds receiving in his time at Miami. Egnew was a great pick. The Dolphins need a seam threat tight end with speed and he’s perfect. He could be a huge addition to the passing game.
    They also have Charles Clay who is in his 2nd season and showed that he could be a threat in the passing game last year. I believe Philbin and Sherman will be able to utilize his talent better than Sparano and Daboll.
    Add Messum to the mix. A guy with his size with his speed and agility is very rare. He could be a big addition to this offense.
    Regardless of how you feel about BJ Cunningham, he is the all-time leading receiver at Michigan State. That does stand for something. Jeff Fuller being picked up in free agency could be a big addition to the offense. If he could show that he’s as good as he played for the Aggies in 2010 he should make the team and contribute.
    Fasano will benefit from the addition of Egnew and from Clay being in his 2nd season. Hartline will finally be used the way he should have been in the past. Expect him to be used more on slants. He’s one of the fastest guys on the team and he has great hands.
    Whether you like Gates, or not, he adds deep speed and he will need to be respected in the passing game. Wallace and Moore have also shown promise and both should get more of a chance to be on the field in preseason to show what they could do.
    Bess is one of the best slot receivers in the game. Everybody says it and knows it. His production dropped last year but, again, the Daboll offense didn’t utilize the slot effectively.
    So, before you go and identify all of the ways in which other teams improved think about what this team has and what they have added to it.
    Why is it always doom and gloom?

  41. ozkar_ Says:

    Thank you JS_in_La for the food for thought.
    I agree with your undertone of other teams getting better,if not much better eventhough We might have also improved.From this draft I’ve concluded that the upper echelon teams will remain there for the forseeable future.The Bengals got A WHOLE LOT BETTER.Obviously the patsies too.The list goes on.YES,We’ve improved,FROM LAST YEAR!.
    In regards to the jest and their qb situation,from my point of view,Tim Tebow will be the starter sooner than later.Sanchez will be shopped around BEFORE trade deadline ends.Tebow is a WINNER.
    DAMN shame We were a day late and a dollar short on acquiring him.Tim is the perfect qb for coach Sparano’s Wildcat.The jest will be very intriguing to watch this coming season.Especially against the Elway Broncos.
    And on Ryan Tannehill,I think he will be a success! Saw that Gruden qb camp on espn with Ryan and it left me very impressed.Tannehill has all the tools to succeed.Height,smarts and the support of the coaching staff.Cause of his before-hand knowledge of Sherman’s offense Ryan is on equal footing as Moore and Garrard.Very good competition to vye with.If Tannehill is the real deal We will know SOONER THAN LATER!

  42. Jon Says:

    new post up

  43. Texas_Dolfan Says:

    WOW, I missed a lot of good stuff. I will have to sort through it later but wanted to at least say nice job to JS. It was a good write up. I don’t agree with all of it but I like it. Thanks

Leave a Reply

